Guest Professors

Martin Jay

Maartin is Sidney Hellman Ehrman Professor of History at the University of California, Berkeley. Among his works are The Dialectical Imagination (l973 and l996); Marxism and Totality (l984); Adorno (l984); Permanent Exiles (l985); Fin-de-Siècle Socialism (l989); Force Fields (l993): Downcast Eyes (l993); Cultural Semantics (l998); Refractions of Violence (2003); Songs of Experience (2004); The Virtues of Mendacity: On Lying In Politics (2010), Essays from the Edge (2011), Kracauer: l’ExilÄ— (2014) and Reason After its Eclipse: On Late Critical Theory (2016). His research interests are in modern European Intellectual History, Critical Theory and Visual Culture.

Tali Hatuka

Tali is architect and urban planner. She is the Head of the Laboratory of contemporary Urban Design, in the Department of Geography and Human Environment at Tel Aviv University. She works primarily on social, planning and architectural issues, focusing on the relationships between urban development and everyday life in contemporary cities. Hatuka is co-editor of Architectural Culture: Place, Representation, Body (2005), co-author of State-Neighborhood (2012). and author of Revisioning Moments: Violent Acts and Urban Space in Contemporary Tel Aviv (2008, 2010). Her forthcoming book is titled The Design of Protest.

Sebastiano Citroni

Sebastiano is sociologist and social researcher. He is currently Professor of Temporary Inhabitants in the Public Spaces (Milan Polytechnical School) and Political Sociology (University of Milano Bicocca). His research interests focus on urban events, civic action, public space, everyday practices, local mobilizations and nonprofit organizations. He is the author of Inclusive Togetherness. A comparative Ethnography of cultural Organizations (2015),Associazioni a Milano. Mappatura e analisi dei bisogni del volontariato [Associations in Milan. A map of volunteering work] (2014), Sogni e Bisogni a Milano. Risorse e Vissuti nella Zona 4 [Dreams and Needs in Milan. Resources and perceptions in Zone 4] (2010).